Biography

Standard

71954538_1794918983972316_8869886650616905728_n

Bonjour,

I am Chef Susan Brassard of Massachusetts. I teach culinary arts and food studies courses at Lowell High School. My culinary career has spanned over twenty-five years, focusing on teaching garde manger, baking and pastry arts, culinary fundamentals, adult education, and hospitality management. I have years of experience working in catering kitchens, private restaurants, hotels, and country clubs. I am working towards a doctorate in education at the University of Massachusetts in Lowell. I hold a Certificate of Advanced Graduate Studies in History/Occupational Education, a Master’s in Gastronomy from Boston University, and a Bachelor’s in Culinary Management from Newbury College.

My current passion is the study of historic cookbooks and the techniques of eras gone past, such as hearth cooking and early home economics. During my summer vacation, you often find me perusing my growing collection of cookery books, domestic manuals, and food pamphlets. I am also passionate about heirloom gardening and canning and preserving foodstuff.

I have established this blog and my Chef 411 Facebook page as a way for students and culinary enthusiasts to connect to me with their specific questions and as a way to share my wealth of knowledge. I hope you enjoy and welcome your active participation.

Bonne journée,

Chef Susan Brassard

10 thoughts on “Biography

  1. Hi Susan,

    I was excited to see your blog because while I am in no way, shape, or form, a chef or even a cook, I like to experiment in the kitchen and try to make healthy recipes. I love gingerbread too and that one looks great! Good luck in the course!

    Morgan

  2. I’ve only been delving into the cooking world for a few years, but have learned just about everything from food bloggers. I look forward to learning more about your cooking creations.
    -Barbara Z

  3. Hey Susan,

    I love the picture on the top left… (of the lady looking frustrated in the kitchen). LOL! I got kicked out of the kitchen the day I got married. I guess my skills are not good enough.

    Regards,
    Yanga

  4. Dan Tarter

    Hi Susan,
    This is a lovely blog and well organized. My mother made custom / catered wedding cakes. I still remember standing on a chair and peering over her shoulder as she squeezed out these magical icing shapes onto the cake. Afterwards, she let me lick the beaters and the spoon. Good luck with the course.
    Dan

  5. Hi Susan –
    Great blog! I like to think of myself as a foodie who loves to eat and is learning more about cooking/baking all those things I love to eat – so you’re blog is right up my alley! Really like the way the blog is structured and organized – especially like the use of the gallery functionality.
    Best of luck with the course!
    Ann

  6. Susan-
    Nice blog – it is very professional and tailored toward a specific audience, which it definitely hits the target! I’ll have to take some cooking tips from your blog, I enjoy cooking on a more amateur level but I still like to tackle awesome recipes. Best of luck in your studies at BU!

    Russell

  7. Susan,
    I’m the one who bakes the cookies, but never get around to decorating. Too many people eat them right away so I’ve given up. I found its easier to make raspberry thumbprints, this way I won’t be disappointed about the decorating. I wish I had your talent. Nice blog!
    Barbara

  8. I have noticed you don’t monetize your site, don’t waste your traffic,
    you can earn extra bucks every month. You can use the best
    adsense alternative for any type of website (they approve all websites), for more info simply search in gooogle:
    boorfe’s tips monetize your website

Leave a comment